Easter

Standard

Easter is by far my favorite holiday. 

All of Holy Week is actually rather special to me and though I don’t go to a high church that celebrates Ash Wednesday, Maundy Thursday, and good Friday, I acknowledge them in my own way. Easter is really just the crown on a week of sacrificial love shown to us.

This year my husband and I were able to host Easter Day at our house. We had family from both sides and a handful of friends gathered in our backyard for corn hole, koob (apparently a Viking yard game I’ve only recently been introduced to), and egg decorating. My family was introduced to pisanki egg dying many years ago by friends of ours, it’s an elaborate method of melting wax in a special pen like tool and writing on eggs before putting them into strong dyes. At the end you melt the wax off and you can see the layers of color hidden beneath the wax. This was the first year I’ve been able to do pisanki eggs at my own place and it was fun to share it with so many new people, it is a practice in patience.

The best part was gathering around the food, having my husband and brother in law slice up ham and lamb, dishing up mashed potatoes, delicious squash, and pulling off chunks of challah bread. For dessert we had cheesecake, meringue baskets with vanilla custard and fruit, and both a cherry and a pecan pie! It was overkill and it was delicious!

   
 Since I didn’t want to be stuck in the kitchen all day I did as much prep before hand as I could, the breads and desserts were made in advance, dishes were started early and then finished off just before dinner, and kitchen areas were zoned off, one counter for appetizers, one for dinner, and the third for dessert. First the clean serving dishes were stacked there ready to be used and then, once done, the dirty dishes were put back on that counter ready to be taken care of the next day but forgotten for the time being.

  
It was a success for me, time spent not stressing out about what plate to put the lamb on during the rush of getting everyone served and the organization of knowing where exactly we were going to put the stacks of dirty wishes was helpful for my easily stressed out brain. And gave me time to decorate my own egg and hold my nephew.

Leave a Reply

