Wedding Parties

Standard

I have three siblings and all four of us are now married! I’m guessing this is a celebration of sorts for our parents, we are now out of the house, building our own lives in different states and buying and renovating our own homes, moving our stuff, slowly but surely, out of their basement and barn, etc.

My sister was the first to get married and I wasn’t there to help much, I was traveling through New Zealand and Australia when she got engaged and for all but a couple of weeks of her engagement, I wasn’t able to throw her a bridal shower or help with the planning and crafting etc. we did as much as we could when we got home, baking pies, throwing an emotional bachelorette party, and helping to set up decorations the day of but it was hard to miss so much of the “wedding process.”

My brother was next and I lived in a different state when they got married, I was able to be there for the wedding but didn’t help my sister in law or brother much, except for making a pie for their dessert bar and making a beer run. It was a casual backyard affair that turned out beautifully but again I threw no parties for it.

I was next and my sisters and mother did so much to contribute to my wedding even from their different states, helping me choose a gown, sending gifts to bridal showers, hosting my bachelorette party the week they arrived in town, throwing me a bridal brunch the day of my wedding, and basically keeping me sane. I also got a mother in law and sister in law who contributed greatly to my wedding, hosting a beautiful bridal shower for me, throwing a fantastic rehearsal dinner, not to mention housing me before our wedding!

Most recently my oldest sister got married. She lived out of state but planned to get married in my home state as we see much warmer weather in February when they got married (outside with a week of fun camping beforehand!) and during her engagement they learned that they would be moving to my hometowns shortly after their wedding!

It was an awesome wedding and my sister and brother in law threw a weeklong party that had one awesome event after another and I was thrilled to be a part of it! Most exciting for me I was able to host a bridal shower for my sister before the wedding, not just celebrating her engagement and the crazy big step she was taking in her life but welcoming her to our town as well. She’s lived here and spent time here before and has a good bunch of friends here, it was fun to see them gather in my new home. To sit down to our favorite of breakfast for dinner with quiches and French toast bakes, mimosas and spiked coffees, and talk about her coming life changes and dream of what all it would be like with her.

  Weddings are the start of so much and sometimes the parties and events beforehand can get overwhelming and seem insignificant to those around the couple to be. These parties are always, I have found, ten times better with something tasty to eat and something cold to drink. It seems good to remember that there is more to these events than stocking the kitchen with pots and pans and the linen closet with towels, that we are there to to celebrate what is happening in their lives and how things will change, grow, and develop in new ways for them now. By all means, stock the kitchen and the linen closet, but also feed them, sit and eat with them, and make a happy toast!

So, here is to parties shared, be they emotionally laden or light and happy, momentous occasions celebrated, food enjoyed together, and drinks that help us get to know each other! And may this party inspire another!

One thought on “Wedding Parties

Leave a Reply

